Home > News > Rick Lowe and Others Honored by Texas Cultural Trust

Rick Lowe and Others Honored by Texas Cultural Trust


Artist Rick Lowe is among the honorees.

The Texas Cultural Trust has embarked on its eighth biennial of honoring “amazing Texans who have made powerful contributions to the arts here at home and around the world” with yesterday’s announcement of its list of 2015 Texas Medal of Arts Awards (TMAA). The awards gala takes place the Long Center for the Performing Arts in Austin on February 25.

The list of honorees typically recognizes “leaders and luminaries who have achieved greatness through their creative talents” and this year’s honorees from the world of visual art in Texas are, for our purposes, highlighted in the complete list below.



·        Music: T Bone Burnett, Fort Worth, TX

·        Film: Jamie Foxx, Terrell, TX

·        Dance: Kilgore Rangerettes, Kilgore, TX

·        Visual Arts: Rick Lowe, Houston, TX

·        Corporate Arts Patron: Dr. Pepper Snapple Group, Plano, TX

·        Individual Arts Patron: Margaret McDermott, Dallas, TX

·        Multi-Media: Emilio Nicolas, San Antonio, TX

·        Television: Dan Rather, Wharton, TX; Chandra Wilson, Houston, TX

·        Architecture: Charles Renfro, Houston, TX

·        Theatre: Robert Schenkkan, Austin, TX

·        Arts Education: Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, Dallas, TX

·        Literary Arts: Lawrence Wright, Austin, TX

·        Standing Ovation Award: Ruth Altshuler, Dallas, TX

·        Lifetime Achievement Award: The Gatlin Brothers, Seminole, TX


Congrats to all (and a fan’s shoutout to T Bone)!  For more info on the awards, go here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
You may also like
Margaret McDermott, R.I.P.
Frank Stella Returns to Houston for Anniversaries
ABOG Fellow for Socially Engaged Art
A Blade of Grass Announces 2017 Fellows
Texas Medal of Arts Announces 2017 Honorees

Leave a Reply

Funding generously provided by: