HCCC’s Sara Morgan and A&M’s Barbara Frey to be Honored at NCECA Awards Cermony at Houston Conference Friday

Barbara Frey/Sara S. Morgan

Barbara Frey/Sara S. Morgan

The National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts (NCECA) will bestow is annual awards at a ceremony at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston on Friday, March 22 from 12-1 p.m. Among the honorees are Sara Morgan, co-founder and past president of the Houston Center for Contemporary Craft (HCCC), and Barbara Frey, Ceramics Professor at Texas A&M University in Commerce.

Morgan will receive a Regional Award of Excellence for her contributions to the art community. Morgan serves on the board of HCCC, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston; Houston Grand Opera and the American Craft Council.  She is a past member of the boards of the Center for National Policy, Washington, D.C.; Anderson Ranch Arts Center of Snowmass, Colorado; the Children’s Museum of Houston; the Kansas City Art Institute, Kansas City; Kansas City Friends of Alvin Ailey; and the Houston Grand Opera Endowment Board.

Frey will receive an Excellence in Teaching Award for her “exemplary dedication to and accomplishment as and educator in ceramic art.”

Other 2013 Awards recipients include: Artist and educator John Toki of Berkeley, CA; George Timock of Kansas City Art Institute; Paulus Berensohn of Penland, NC; and Victor Spinski of Newark, Delaware.

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Funding generously provided by: