Home > News > Dallas Museum of Art presents 2011 awards to nine artists

Dallas Museum of Art presents 2011 awards to nine artists

The Dallas museum of Art has announced the nine recipients of its 2011 artist awards. The four DeGolyer Fund (for artists between 15 and 25 years of age) recipients are Lindsey Allgood, a grad student at the University of Oklahoma, who  will use the award funds to travel to the Summerwork Residency Program at the University of Wisconsin and to Boston, where she will study with performance artist Faith Johnson and perform at a gallery. Artist/anthropologist Diedrick Brackens, will use the award funds to travel to New York’s Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture to conduct research on black life in the Americas. Photographer Kasumi Chow  will use her award to purchase a large-format camera. Weaver Sarah Zapata will purchase a loom.

The three 2011 Arch and Anne Giles Kimbrough Fund (for Texas artists under the age 30) Award recipients are Xxavier Edward Carter, who will produce a new series of mixed media works based around language and abstraction. Kerry Pacillio will create a music video for the Kinks’ 1987 song “Property” and will portray each band member. Edward Setina, a Dallas-based installation artist, will create  an eight-foot illuminated Plexiglas cube in which he will reside for the duration of a 24 hour performance.

The two 2011 Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant recipients are Joshua Goode who will travel across Africa and Europe to visit centers of mythology, ritual, and religion; and Kevin Todora, who will attend the 2011 Venice Biennale.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Funding generously provided by: